The Centre for Volunteering and Community Leadership's Celebration Event 2017

The vital community role played by students and young people throughout the county was celebrated at a special awards ceremony on 24th May 2017 at 53 Degrees.

It was organised by the Centre for Volunteering and Community Leadership (CVCL) at the University of Central Lancashire (UCLan). The  awards honoured the work of people from all walks of life who give up their own free time to make a difference to communities across Lancashire through their time, talent and dedication.

Dr Alethea Melling MBE, Director of CVCL, said: “Our Centre has held a celebration event for the past decade and every year it’s become tougher to choose the winners.

“Students and young people sometimes get a bad press but these awards highlight the vital contribution they make as volunteers, sharing their growing knowledge and expertise through social action. Our statistics demonstrate the significant economic value of their work, but the social value is priceless.

“Our awardees and nominees are an inspiration to all, a credit to themselves, the University and the communities they serve.”

Categories for which students and young people were nominated included: Community Legends 2017, Community Heroes 2017, Community Team of the Year, Volunteering Lancashire Young Volunteer of the Year 2017, the Vice Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Volunteering and also the very special Joe Medforth Challenge Award. This award is in memory of a Preston student who was killed in the city in 2006.

The celebration event brought together organisations and community groups from across Lancashire who work with UCLan to promote student-led social action. These include Lancashire County Council, Myerscough College (new this year), local schools and young people, external volunteers from the community and their friends and family members.

Entertainment for the evening was provided by policing student and talented singer Chloe Walker while the hosts were Mr Lee Macneall and Mrs Nadia Khan.

The award categories and winners were:

Community Heroes 2017

Kalya Parker-Livesey, Elizabeth Adetunde, David Perter Walkden, Matthew Chadwick and Sonia Consearo.

Also, Saleema Firfire, Lyndsay Baxter, Kieren James Graham, Courtney Cowgill, Bethany Walker, Josephine Wood and Asifa Ali.

Moreover, Mandi Whittle, Tania Kiran Arif, Alex Lowe, Susan Consearo, Phil Jackson, Tayba Khan, Chloe Metcalfe and Laura Jayne Graham.

Finally, Roy Thomson, Amanda Collins, Rita Logan- Tout,  Samera Shahid, Lorna Hopper, Adeola Adeshina, Phoebe Dearden, Mumtaz Ali, Faheema Patel and Sabha Sani.

Community Legends 2017

Ben Poulain, Matthew Birkinshaw, Isabella Keighley, Aimee Turner, Stephanie Hanley, Sarah Blackston, Matthew Mayhew, Robin Duffy and Lanre (Olanrewaju) Olabode.

Joe Medforth Challenge Award

Sandra Dutkeviciute

Community Team of the Year 2017

The Amy Winehouse Foundation  was awarded to the Resilience Programme in Lancashire

The UCLan Community Volunteer Award 2017

Vishal Karri, Community Volunteer with Fishwick Rangers Tiny Tots FC

The Lifetime Achievement Award

Fayyaz Ahmed

UCLan Student Volunteer of the Year Award

Melanie Clarke

The Vice Chancellor’s Award of Excellence in Volunteering

Emili Peake, Skye Kerri-Leigh Bagshaw, Matty Green, Raeesa Ibrahim, Tara Kenyon, Farheen Rokhad, Nazesh Sumehra, Bryan Wilks and Kathleen Miller. Also, Melanie Demetriou and Nyarai Dzirambe-Chaparadza.

The SU Award for Volunteering

Suntosh Kaur

UCLan Sport Volunteers Awards

Nicola White, Max Povey, Matthew Nuttall, Darryl McNicholl, Sam Ernill, Amy Bond, Mitchell Toth, Daniel McGrail and Alistair White. Also, Lydia Boland, Nathan Yates-Price and Cheryl Shamaun.

UCLan Law Clinic Volunteer of the Year

Harriett Heath

Marsden Heights Achievers of the Year

Zainab Naz, Amaika Naeem, Lois Miles Hargreaves and Mancy Mariyathas.

Marsden Heights Team of the Year

Amaan Bhatti, Jemimah Afzhal, Madiha Anwar, Nida Ali, Maham Manzoor, Talah Shakeel, Abdul Qadir, Elizabeth Southam, Hera Azhar and Stuart Jackson.

Also, Kayan Asif, Muhammad Bilal, Salman Hussain, Jack Sansam, Amanat Younas,Umer Hussain, Laraib Ali, Uzma Arif and Roxanna Chip.

Marsden Heights Volunteers of the Year

Hadeeqa Ayub and Maryam Ali

Peer Mentoring Outstanding Contribution

Victoria Atherton, Raidah Azam, Skye Bagshaw, Matthew Lee and Nazesh Sumehra

Mentor of the Year

Geethma Aponsu