CVCL Awards 2014

July 18, 2014



The vital community role played by students and young people throughout the county was celebrated at a special awards ceremony in May 2014 at 53 Degrees.

It was organised by the Centre for Volunteering and Community Leadership (CVCL) at the University of Central Lancashire (UCLan). The 54 awards honored the work of people from all walks of life who give up their own free time to make a difference to communities across Lancashire through their time, talent and dedication.

Dr Alethea Melling, MBE, Director of the Centre for Volunteering and Community Leadership, said: “Our Centre has held a celebration event for the past decade and every year it’s become tougher to choose the winners.

“Students and young people sometimes get a bad press but these awards highlight the vital contribution they make as volunteers, sharing their growing knowledge and expertise through social action. Our statistics demonstrate the significant economic value of their work, but the social value is priceless.

“Our awardees and nominees are an inspiration to all, a credit to themselves, the University and the communities they serve.”

Categories for which students and young people were nominated included: Community Legends 2014, Community Heroes 2014, Community Team of the Year, Volunteering Lancashire Young Volunteer of the Year 2014, the Vice Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Volunteering and also the very special Joe Medforth Challenge Award. This is in memory of a Preston student who was killed in the city in 2006.

The celebration event brought together organisations and community groups from across Lancashire who work with UCLan to promote student-led social action. These include Lancashire County Council, Myerscough College (new this year), local schools and young people. Also, it includes external volunteers from the community and their friends and family members.

Entertainment for the evening was provided by policing student and talented singer Chloe Walker. The hosts were married couple Saima and Bilal Zeb Gondal. Bilal is a student on the BA (Hons) Community Leadership while Saima is studying on the MA in Community Leadership.

The award categories and winners were:

Community Heroes 2014

Hayley Robson, Thomas Melvin, Matthew Howells, Junayd Ali, Mohammed Saleem Patel, Sarwat Ali, Amy Woodings, Michael Keurschner, Jessica Shrewsbury, Gary Dunn, Nica Da Silva, Mahsa Mirza Hossein, Lauren Towey, Lara Butterfield, Daniel Hindman, Matthew Marren, Keertana Rajakumaran, Maxine Trickett, Vincent Chioma Utchay, Tasneem Vahed, Rebekkah Yates, Beth-Louise Downey, Krishen Chauhan, Chloe Judet and Sophie Morrison.

Community Legends 2014

Sumayya Ibrahim, Rihana Khan, Alison Carlaw, Sarah Carlaw, Emma Owen, Charlotte Woodworth, Melanie Clarke, Lauren Shrewsbury, Sharon Macdonald and Khanh Huyen Luong.

Volunteering Lancashire Young Volunteer of the Year 2014

Natalie Jaques.

Positive Voices Award

Mum2Mum initiative.

Myerscough College Volunteer of the Year

Rachel Emeny.

Joe Medforth Challenge Award

Mark Walley.

Community Team of the Year 2014

SEED – Shelley Perry.

The UCLan Community Award 2014

Daniel Antohi.

The Lifetime Achievement Award

Fayyaz Ali.

UCLan Student Volunteer of the Year Award 2014.

Melanie Clarke.

The Vice Chancellor’s Award of Excellence in Volunteering

Neil Allen, Mark Walley, Susan Onyango, Jordan Radwell and Mark Lee.

The SU Award for Volunteering

Mark Lee.

UCLan Sport Volunteers Awards

George Pavitt, Laura Quayle, Hazel Anne Abbott, Sinead Mcalinden and Jonny Edwards.